Explanation: how the antivirus removes malware

ImunifyAV works as a regular antivirus: it looks for the malicious piece of code in the files of a website while scanning and shows infected files in the report when the scanning finishes. If the user selects to cleanup malware, then the antivirus either removes a piece of malicious injection in the file or removes the entire file depending of the detected threat.

If the entire file is a web-shell or doorway or some other type of malicious file, then antivirus removes it entirely. If there’s only a small injection at the beginning or at the end, or somewhere in the middle of the file, the exact malicious piece of code will be removed, but the rest content is left unchanged. Generally, the antivirus removes the malware and keeps a website up and running.

There’s an option in the settings which defines whether the file is to be removed or just truncated (content of the file is completely removed but the file itself is left on the file system empty and has zero file length).

The truncation is safer than removal because if the file is included in a database template or some other system file or a config file then the website might become broken after a cleanup. Therefore the antivirus uses a safer cleanup by default to keep website working properly all the time. But one can disable this option in the Settings so the antivirus will remove the file completely in case the entire file is malware.